Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Can I run all my SQL backups from one server?

    To simply reporting, agent execution etc, I want to run all my SQL Server backups from one SQL Server. I modified my SQLFULL script to backup my SQL Servers as follows:

    Code:
    set tsm_dir=C:\Progra~1\Tivoli\TSM\TDPSql
    set sql_dir=D:\Progra~1\Micros~1\MSSQL.1\MSSQL\Backup
    set opt_path=%tsm_dir%\DSM
     
    date < NUL >> %sql_dir%\sqlsched.log
    time < NUL >> %sql_dir%\sqlsched.log
    %tsm_dir%\tdpsqlc backup * full /tsmnode=SQL1 /tsmp=thldyw41 /tsmoptfile=%opt_path%\SQL1\dsm.opt /logfile=%sql_dir%\sqlfull.log 
    %tsm_dir%\tdpsqlc backup * full /tsmnode=SQL2 /tsmp=thldyw41 /tsmoptfile=%opt_path%\SQL2\dsm.opt /logfile=%sql_dir%\sqlfull.log 
    %tsm_dir%\tdpsqlc backup * full /tsmnode=SQL3 /tsmp=thldyw41 /tsmoptfile=%opt_path%\SQL3\dsm.opt /logfile=%sql_dir%\sqlfull.log
    The problem is that it is NOT backing up all three nodes. It appears to be backing up the host node three times in a row. Can I backup everything from one server?

  2. #2
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,924
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 233 Times in 228 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by osi9400 View Post
    To simply reporting, agent execution etc, I want to run all my SQL Server backups from one SQL Server. I modified my SQLFULL script to backup my SQL Servers as follows:

    Code:
    set tsm_dir=C:\Progra~1\Tivoli\TSM\TDPSql
    set sql_dir=D:\Progra~1\Micros~1\MSSQL.1\MSSQL\Backup
    set opt_path=%tsm_dir%\DSM
     
    date < NUL >> %sql_dir%\sqlsched.log
    time < NUL >> %sql_dir%\sqlsched.log
    %tsm_dir%\tdpsqlc backup * full /tsmnode=SQL1 /tsmp=thldyw41 /tsmoptfile=%opt_path%\SQL1\dsm.opt /logfile=%sql_dir%\sqlfull.log 
    %tsm_dir%\tdpsqlc backup * full /tsmnode=SQL2 /tsmp=thldyw41 /tsmoptfile=%opt_path%\SQL2\dsm.opt /logfile=%sql_dir%\sqlfull.log 
    %tsm_dir%\tdpsqlc backup * full /tsmnode=SQL3 /tsmp=thldyw41 /tsmoptfile=%opt_path%\SQL3\dsm.opt /logfile=%sql_dir%\sqlfull.log
    The problem is that it is NOT backing up all three nodes. It appears to be backing up the host node three times in a row. Can I backup everything from one server?
    As far as I know, TDP for SQL is not remote-aware. You need to backup or initiate backup on the node itself.

    This beats going around the licensing issue.
    Ed

Similar Threads

  1. Encrypting backups with TDP for SQL Server
    By EdBorden in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-23-2012, 06:12 AM
  2. Can't run SQLFULL script from SQL agent
    By osi9400 in forum Microsoft SQL Server
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-30-2009, 02:13 PM
  3. SQL Server Backups
    By OKTSMGURU21 in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-21-2007, 10:37 AM
  4. TDP for microsoft SQL Server (log backups)
    By DavidLust in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-21-2005, 04:51 PM
  5. Can you run two different scheduled backups for the SAME NODE
    By kim_mitchell in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-07-2004, 02:44 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •