Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Failed TDP Automated Backup ver. 5.5 clustered

    Hello all,
    I am having trouble getting TDP to work on a cluster. This is my first cluster install. If I call up the GUI I can run a successful backup. If I try to kick off the back up from the CMD file it fails with the following error:

    Backup of master failed.
    ACO5422E Received the following from the MS SQL server:
    An exception occurred while executing a Transact-SQL statement or batch.
    Cannot open backup device 'TDPSQL-00001688-0000'. Operating system error 0x80070002(The system cannot find the file specified.).

    BACKUP DATABASE is terminating abnormally.

    This is a two server active/passive cluster. I have TDP set up identically on both servers with the clusternode set to yes in the dsm.opt. My CMD files are located in a directory just off of c: and this is the line that is used to call the backup:

    %sql_dir%\tdpsqlc backup master full /sqlserver=sqlserver01 /tsmoptfile=%sql_dir%\dsm.opt /logfile=%sql_dir%\masterFull.log >> %sql_dir%\sqlsched.log

    I have a feeling this has something to do with the clustering but I can't figure out what. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,718
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 207 Times in 202 Posts

    Default

    Setting up TDP backups for Cluster is not the same as for single node systems. The error you are getting looks like a configuration issue.

    Is the database located on a Shared resource (shared disk)? As you know, this is mandatory for Clustering to work properly, and for TDP for SQL to work as designed. Here are a few tips.

    One common problem is the definition of the SQL server node name. The node name must be the virtual node name.

    Another thing to consider is the setup of the backup services for the TDP environment. The TSM service that will handle the TDP backup must be set using the MS Cluster Admin Manager MMC. Fail over should work well for the TDP backup to work properly.

    There is no GUI setup for TDP for SQL. You need to use the dsmcsutil command to setup the environment properly.
    Last edited by moon-buddy; 12-11-2012 at 12:33 PM.
    Ed

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by moon-buddy View Post

    Another thing to consider is the setup of the backup services for the TDP environment. The TSM service that will handle the TDP backup must be set using the MS Cluster Admin Manager MMC. Fail over should work well for the TDP backup to work properly.
    ...Just a hint, here, as a side note to setting up a properly Cluster administered service: Set up local services on each node, first, but set them to start up manually and do NOT start them when you finish setting them up, and the name of the service needs to be identical on both nodes. Then set up a resource type "generic service" on the cluster to administer them, and it MUST be called an identical name to the local services you set up on each node.

    When you are setting up this service in the cluster administrator, *UNTICK* the "affects the group" box on the Advanced tab of the properties. If you don't it gets the cluster stuck in a failover loop whenever you try to run a backup.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by prairdon View Post
    This is a two server active/passive cluster. I have TDP set up identically on both servers with the clusternode set to yes in the dsm.opt. My CMD files are located in a directory just off of c: and this is the line that is used to call the backup:

    %sql_dir%\tdpsqlc backup master full /sqlserver=sqlserver01 /tsmoptfile=%sql_dir%\dsm.opt /logfile=%sql_dir%\masterFull.log >> %sql_dir%\sqlsched.log

    I have a feeling this has something to do with the clustering but I can't figure out what. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.
    Just as a better practice, put your command files on the same disk as what you are trying to back up, so that you only have one path and it travels with the cluster.


    Having said that, however, this may not be a clustering issue, but an issue with the permissions of whatever account the command runs under by default. Have you checked out http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docvie...ss=ct666tivoli ?

  5. #5
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you for your responses. Unfortunately my struggles continue. I have named my node the exact name of the virtual server and have moved my dsm.opt file to a shared directory. I have given the service the same login that runs my Sql Server so permission should not be an issue. I still can't get a back up to run through the scheduler and when I double click on my CMD file it errors saying it can't open the backup device. Everything says this should work but it doesn't. Any ideas? Thank you!

  6. #6
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,718
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 207 Times in 202 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by prairdon View Post
    I have given the service the same login that runs my Sql Server so permission should not be an issue. I still can't get a back up to run through the scheduler and when I double click on my CMD file it errors saying it can't open the backup device.
    When you attempt to run the TDP backup CMD, are you logged in as the account that runs the SQL Server as you mentioned. Even if you are logged in as Administrator, access rights seems broken for this environment type. I have seen this before.
    Ed

Similar Threads

  1. Automated System Recovery (ASR) files failed
    By Lars_Svensson in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-05-2009, 07:33 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2009, 07:30 AM
  3. How to backup Oracle ver 8,9 and 10 with TSM TDP
    By antepante in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-14-2007, 01:57 PM
  4. TDP for MS SQL - ver 5.3.3
    By GregE in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-03-2007, 03:23 PM
  5. TDP for exchange ver. 5.1.5 - dumb question
    By caryacademy in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-17-2002, 03:57 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •