Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default New to FastBack....Pls guide..!!

    Hi...

    I've been asked to deploy TSM FastBack for one of our clients... And I wanted to try them out before deploying in real time... So started to test the product on one of the VMWARE environments... I am having a lot of doubts so thought of sharing it across so that some of the guys out here might help me out...!!!

    * Do we have to install FastBack mount/Instant Restore on each and every server??Even after installing on the server the icon doesn't seem to appear on the system tray..in that case how do i invoke that??

    * I tried to setup the Data Replication scenario from my FastBack Server to another Server..Hence created the REP directory and did changes in the FastBackDRHubServer.ini file and restarted the services... also did the necessary updates in the DR configuration tab. And ran the TEST configuration tab and it completed successfully also....
    When I clicked on RUN NOW option some files and folders were created under the REP_DR directory....I assumed that DR means the entire data will be copied onto the DR server but the files/folders under the REP_DR are quite different....!!
    Am I doing things the right way or something is wrong...??

    Please let me know guys....
    Thanks and Regards,
    Asha

  2. #2
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Fastback Mount icon

    I am doing testing on fastback at this time, the mount/restore icon does not appear on the VMware instance of Fastback server or client, even though the service shows it is running. Now it does show on up a real server in the system tray not sure if this is a bug with VMware itself or problem with fastback on a VMware instance.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Miami, Fl
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default FastBack Mount Icon and Application

    Guys,

    To view the FastBack icon in the icon tray as well as launching the application, you need to logon to the Windows server console. Start the remote desktop session with either the /admin or /console switch in the connection string. For example: servername /console.

    I finished a FastBack test last week and found it quite useful. The only thing I need to finish automating the integration with the TSM B/A agent for backing up data to the TSM server.

    Regards,
    Frunkster

  4. #4
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Fastback Integration with TSM

    Hello Everyone,

    I need a sample script for automated backup of fastback repository for long term retention on tsm (TSM and Fastback Integration).It's urgent.

    Thanks in advance.

  5. #5
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi suleman,

    Please refer on these link

    http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/tsmfbinf/v6/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.tsm.fb.doc%2FFB_Install Use%2Fr_fast_pd.html

    You can customized the script written in this user guide.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-25-2009, 06:26 AM
  2. Question to the ADSM.ORG FastBack on Linux
    By caldwem01 in forum News & Announcements
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-29-2009, 12:47 PM
  3. FastBack for Microsoft Exchange
    By shahim in forum TSM Fastback
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-21-2009, 09:45 PM
  4. TSM FASTBACK for Exchange
    By tsmlover in forum TSM Fastback
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-10-2008, 04:27 PM
  5. How can I be out of space???? URGENT PLS HELP ME!!!!!!
    By newtsm in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-15-2003, 03:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •