Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: NDMP Help

  1. #1
    Senior Member cwilloug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Cool NDMP Help

    We just installed an Nseries NAS, I have downloaded, read, and configured the TSM side of things following the redbook Using the IBM System Storage N Series with IBM Tivoli Storage
    Manager. Chapter 4 goes right into using the TSM gui or command line - what client do you put on the NAS? and how?

    I have configured the NAS to see my attached tape drives, but I am missing the client install portion - this may seem like a silly question to some, but I've never done and work with NDMP before.

    Any tips / tricks / hints from anyone else using NDMP too would be helpful.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member toxy13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Leipzig
    Posts
    739
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

  3. #3
    Senior Member cwilloug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Yes, these are the step listed in the redbook Using the IBM System Storage N Series with IBM Tivoli Storage Manager, which are done either from the ISC, or the TSM command line, which I have done...

  4. #4
    Senior Member toxy13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Leipzig
    Posts
    739
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    ok, you need the tsm client - ndmp part:
    http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...c/clients.html

  5. #5
    Senior Member cwilloug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Ok - a light bulb just came on over my head - you don't have a client on the NAS like on windows / unix boxes,,, the TSM server tells the NAS when to back up,, the NAS doesn't poll the TSM server to see what time it is to back up.

  6. #6
    Senior Member toxy13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Leipzig
    Posts
    739
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cwilloug View Post
    you don't have a client on the NAS like on windows / unix boxes
    you're damn right my friend

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    you should have the ndmp process enable and running. By default it is talking to TSM server using port 10000. On the TSM server side, when you start the TSM server, NDMP API will be initialized. Hopefully, you have defined the datamover, nas node properly including the account and password to be used and proper authority.

Similar Threads

  1. ndmp - celerra
    By bheisser in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-29-2008, 10:01 AM
  2. NDMP Reporting Help
    By dms19 in forum NDMP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-04-2008, 12:30 PM
  3. NDMP Backups
    By tmahesh_kumar1 in forum NDMP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-31-2007, 03:36 PM
  4. NDMP configuration
    By kirankumar299 in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-20-2006, 12:04 AM
  5. NDMP backups anyone?
    By booth in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-06-2006, 08:41 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •