Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question how to get no lengthy output

    running commands in interactive mode give a nice overview (line bij line)

    e.g. q devclass * f=d

    If i run this from a script (in combination with other queries (for documentation purposes))
    the output is just a few lines, but these are long. I cannot use this in a document.

    Is there a way to reduce the lengthy lines and get the output as it was started manually


    The output of ISC is huge, lot of lines and not realy readable

  2. #2
    Senior Member rore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Montreal, CA
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Hi,
    Post your script.
    What scripting tool are you using?

    Rudy

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question

    I've a TSM script which contains a lot, but
    q status

    will display normally (manually entered)
    Server Name ServerXXX
    Server Host name or IP address 1.1.1.1
    server tcp/ip port 1500

    etc

    if i run it and redirect it

    run script > c:/xxxx

    it will show
    Server Name Server Host name or IP address server tcp/ip port

    ------------------- ------------------------------- -------------------
    ServerXXX 1.1.1.1 1500 ------> etc

  4. #4
    Senior Member rore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Montreal, CA
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Post

    Hi,
    Add -DISPLaymode=LISt to your dsmadmc command statements in your script.

    OR

    Use -OUTfile=c:\xxxx instead of > c:\xxxx

    Rudy

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Thanks

    Rudy, Thanks for your answer, just had the time to implement it. Rene

Similar Threads

  1. Hard to believe output!!!!
    By influx in forum Scripting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-10-2008, 10:40 AM
  2. different in q stg output
    By frmueller in forum Capacity Planning
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-02-2007, 10:13 AM
  3. Output to CSV
    By Patrick in forum Administrative Client
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-18-2006, 08:52 PM
  4. output to a file
    By jthillo in forum TSM Reporting & Monitoring
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2006, 05:01 PM
  5. Output in 1 line
    By compare in forum Scripting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-03-2004, 02:47 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •