Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 24 of 32
  1. #1
    Member psharpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Please Help. Can't retrieve from archives

    Please Help. I can't manage to retrieve any data from my archive tapes. We do archives every night and these appear to be working correctly.
    When I try to do a retrieve I get the following messages in the TSM Console:
    ANR8447E No drives are currently available in library LTO_LIB.
    ANR1401W Mount request denied for volume V1002-002 - mount failed.

    The drive is online. Output from q path f=d below
    tsm: V1002_LIVEDB>q path f=d
    Source Name: V1002_LIVEDB
    Source Type: SERVER
    Destination Name: LTO_LIB
    Destination Type: LIBRARY
    Library:
    Node Name:
    Device: /dev/smc0
    External Manager:
    LUN:
    Initiator: 0
    Directory:
    On-Line: Yes
    Last Update by (administrator): ADMIN
    Last Update Date/Time: 07/10/08 19:39:32

    Source Name: V1002_LIVEDB
    Source Type: SERVER
    Destination Name: LTO_DRIVE
    Destination Type: DRIVE
    Library: LTO_LIB
    Node Name:
    Device: /dev/rmt0
    External Manager:
    LUN:
    Initiator: 0
    Directory:
    On-Line: Yes
    Last Update by (administrator): ADMIN
    Last Update Date/Time: 07/10/08 19:40:42

    The operating system is AIX 5.3 TL08 SP02
    The TSM Server is v5.5.1.0
    The TSM Client is v5.5.1.0

    I have successfully done retrieves in the past but this was at TSM Server v5.5.0.0. This is the first time I have tried a retrieve at SP1.

    Please help. I urgently need to retrieve some data from a couple of days ago.
    Any ideas /suggestions welcomed.

    Thanks in advance.

    Paul.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi Paul..

    Looks like some processes or sessions are running during the time of restore and utilizing the drives...Kindly check 'q mo' and see if you can find any sessions open for any volumes..

    Then once you are 100% sure that the drives are free,try out your restore...!!!

    Gud Luck..!!
    Thanks and Regards,
    Asha

  3. #3
    Member psharpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi Asha,

    Thanks for your reply.
    If I do a q mount I get the following:
    tsm: V1002_LIVEDB>q mount
    ANR2034E QUERY MOUNT: No match found using this criteria.


    This suggests to me that no process or session is using the drive.

    Still can't do a retrieve.

    Cheers,
    Paul.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    537
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Hi

    Are your drives online? post output of "q dr f=d"

    Is everything ok at AIX level? Anything in "errpt" ?
    Are all rmt devices Available? (lsdev -Cc tape)
    Are all other tape mounts working ok for things like migration/reclamation?

    Post entire actlog during period when you try to do retrieve.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Member psharpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Output from "q dr f=d"
    tsm: V1002_LIVEDB>Q DR F=D
    Library Name: LTO_LIB
    Drive Name: LTO_DRIVE
    Device Type: LTO
    On-Line: Yes
    Read Formats: ULTRIUMC,ULTRIUM
    Write Formats: ULTRIUMC,ULTRIUM
    Element: 82
    Drive State: EMPTY
    Volume Name:
    Allocated to:
    WWN:
    Serial Number: 9110019286
    Last Update by (administrator): ADMIN
    Last Update Date/Time: 07/10/08 19:40:43
    Cleaning Frequency (Gigabytes/ASNEEDED/NONE): NONE

    Everything is fine at AIX. Nothing in the error log. To make sure the drive was ok I did a mksyb this mrning and then verified it. Also did a tar to tape and restored it no problems.

    Last nights archive worked fine. This goes to a disk storage pool and then gets migrated to tape.

    Activity Log atached.


    Cheers,
    Paul
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    537
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Hi again

    Most odd... everything looks ok..all I can think is that somehow Atape device driver/TSM has got in a state..

    Just for clarification.. you only have 1 tape drive and this is an LTO1 drive?

    What version of Atape are you running ?

    All I can suggest is a reboot then try again.

  7. #7
    Member psharpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi,

    I managed to get all the users off last night and rebooted the lpar.

    The tape library is actually an LTO2.

    The Atape driver is 11.1.3.0 (which I think is reasonably recent).

    I even removed the device files and recreated them using cfgmgr.
    Varied the drive, drivepath and library offline and back online no problems.

    I can check tapes in and out of the library by reading the tape header. Archives are working ok.

    Cheers,

    Paul

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    537
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Have a read of this.. I notice you drive is set to Ultrium and UltriumC.. so are your tapes LTO1 ?

    http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docvie...UTF-8&lang=all

  9. #9
    Member psharpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Tapes are LTO2

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    537
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    can you post " q devc f=d"

  11. #11
    Member psharpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    tsm: V1002_LIVEDB>q devc f=d
    Session established with server V1002_LIVEDB: AIX-RS/6000
    Server Version 5, Release 5, Level 1.0
    Server date/time: 08/10/08 14:25:27 Last access: 08/10/08 14:21:41

    Device Class Name: DISK
    Device Access Strategy: Random
    Storage Pool Count: 4
    Device Type:
    Format:
    Est/Max Capacity (MB):
    Mount Limit:
    Mount Wait (min):
    Mount Retention (min):
    Label Prefix:
    Library:
    Directory:
    Server Name:
    Retry Period:
    Retry Interval:
    Shared:
    High-level Address:
    Minimum Capacity:
    WORM: No
    Drive Encryption:
    Scaled Capacity:

    Last Update by (administrator):
    Last Update Date/Time: 25/06/08 14:44:59
    Device Class Name: LTO_CLASS_1
    Device Access Strategy: Sequential
    Storage Pool Count: 1
    Device Type: LTO
    Format: DRIVE
    Est/Max Capacity (MB): 409,600.0
    Mount Limit: DRIVES
    Mount Wait (min): 60
    Mount Retention (min): 320
    Label Prefix: ADSM
    Library: LTO_LIB
    Directory:
    Server Name:
    Retry Period:
    Retry Interval:
    Shared:
    High-level Address:
    Minimum Capacity:
    WORM: No
    Drive Encryption: Allow
    Scaled Capacity:
    Last Update by (administrator): ADMIN
    Last Update Date/Time: 07/10/08 19:53:03

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    please check the the path, "q path f=d"

  13. #13
    Moderator mikeymac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    896
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

    Default

    You're writing data to LTO2 tapes on LTO1 drives? How are you doing that? I don't believe that's possible. What am I missing here?

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    537
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    No there are LTO2 tape drives writing to LTO2 tapes... i

    To me it looks like the devclass isn't quite right, i.e devclass has FORMAT=drive
    but the drive shows read/write ULTRIUMC/ULTRIUM
    not ULTRIUM2C/ULTRIUM2 as I would expect.

    When the LTO2 drives were installed, I presume they were an upgrade from LTO1 ?
    hence the devclass name has LTO1 in?

  15. #15
    Member psharpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jbautista View Post
    please check the the path, "q path f=d"
    tsm: V1002_LIVEDB>q path f=d
    Source Name: V1002_LIVEDB
    Source Type: SERVER
    Destination Name: LTO_LIB
    Destination Type: LIBRARY
    Library:
    Node Name:
    Device: /dev/smc0
    External Manager:
    LUN:
    Initiator: 0
    Directory:
    On-Line: Yes
    Last Update by (administrator): ADMIN
    Last Update Date/Time: 07/10/08 19:39:32
    Source Name: V1002_LIVEDB
    Source Type: SERVER
    Destination Name: LTO_DRIVE
    Destination Type: DRIVE
    Library: LTO_LIB
    Node Name:
    Device: /dev/rmt0
    External Manager:
    LUN:
    Initiator: 0
    Directory:
    On-Line: Yes
    Last Update by (administrator): ADMIN
    Last Update Date/Time: 07/10/08 19:40:42

  16. #16
    Member psharpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ilovetsm View Post
    No there are LTO2 tape drives writing to LTO2 tapes... i

    To me it looks like the devclass isn't quite right, i.e devclass has FORMAT=drive
    but the drive shows read/write ULTRIUMC/ULTRIUM
    not ULTRIUM2C/ULTRIUM2 as I would expect.

    When the LTO2 drives were installed, I presume they were an upgrade from LTO1 ?
    hence the devclass name has LTO1 in?
    The tape drives were upgraded from LTO1 to LTO2. I have done retrieves since this was done. Would this cause any problems?

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    please verify that your tape you're trying to use is accessible. "q vol volume_name f=d". also check if the tape is not write protect.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeymac View Post
    You're writing data to LTO2 tapes on LTO1 drives? How are you doing that? I don't believe that's possible. What am I missing here?
    Mikeymac, I originally thought you were off base, but on reflection that definately is an LTO1 drive.

    If you're trying to retrieve data off an LTO 2 tape with an LTO1 drive you're doomed to failure...

    Can you verify what sort of drive you have please?

    C

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by psharpe View Post
    The tape drives were upgraded from LTO1 to LTO2. I have done retrieves since this was done. Would this cause any problems?
    The devtypes aren't identical so TSM is seeing the drive as an LTO1. Is this off an old TSM DB restore?

    C

  20. #20
    Member psharpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jbautista View Post
    please verify that your tape you're trying to use is accessible. "q vol volume_name f=d". also check if the tape is not write protect.
    tsm: V1002_LIVEDB>q vol V1002-025 f=d
    Volume Name: V1002-025
    Storage Pool Name: LTO_STG_POOL
    Device Class Name: LTO_CLASS_1
    Estimated Capacity: 409.6 G
    Scaled Capacity Applied:
    Pct Util: 58.5
    Volume Status: Filling
    Access: Read-Only
    Pct. Reclaimable Space: 0.0
    Scratch Volume?: Yes
    In Error State?: No
    Number of Writable Sides: 1
    Number of Times Mounted: 3
    Write Pass Number: 1
    Approx. Date Last Written: 05/10/08 05:03:26
    Approx. Date Last Read: 05/10/08 02:12:23
    Date Became Pending:
    Number of Write Errors: 0
    Number of Read Errors: 0
    Volume Location:
    Volume is MVS Lanfree Capable : No
    Last Update by (administrator): ADMIN
    Last Update Date/Time: 05/10/08 05:03:30
    Begin Reclaim Period:
    End Reclaim Period:
    Drive Encryption Key Manager:

  21. #21
    Member psharpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Craigy View Post
    The devtypes aren't identical so TSM is seeing the drive as an LTO1. Is this off an old TSM DB restore?

    C
    This is not an old TSM DB restore, infact it was a new TSM DB in June.

  22. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    there is the error, your access to the tape is "read-only". update it with the "update volume" command with access read/write. you cannot restore a file with access read-only.

    tsm: V1002_LIVEDB>q vol V1002-025 f=d
    Volume Name: V1002-025
    Storage Pool Name: LTO_STG_POOL
    Device Class Name: LTO_CLASS_1
    Estimated Capacity: 409.6 G
    Scaled Capacity Applied:
    Pct Util: 58.5
    Volume Status: Filling
    Access: Read-Only

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    537
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Psharpe - earlier you said

    "I even removed the device files and recreated them using cfgmgr.
    Varied the drive, drivepath and library offline and back online no problems."

    I would go one step further.. delete the drive path and drive completely and redefine them.

  24. #24
    Member psharpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jbautista View Post
    there is the error, your access to the tape is "read-only". update it with the "update volume" command with access read/write. you cannot restore a file with access read-only.

    tsm: V1002_LIVEDB>q vol V1002-025 f=d
    Volume Name: V1002-025
    Storage Pool Name: LTO_STG_POOL
    Device Class Name: LTO_CLASS_1
    Estimated Capacity: 409.6 G
    Scaled Capacity Applied:
    Pct Util: 58.5
    Volume Status: Filling
    Access: Read-Only
    Why?

    As far as I am aware that just means that the tape is set to read only. ie TSM will not try to write to it.
    Correct me if I am wrong.

    Paul

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Question about Archives
    By loki-2008 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-09-2008, 12:49 PM
  2. TDP Archives
    By djchopps0013 in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-16-2007, 09:58 AM
  3. How to see new modification in Archives ?
    By Seirei in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-06-2007, 05:38 AM
  4. Multiple Archives
    By tapley in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-01-2007, 11:02 AM
  5. TDP Archives.....???
    By djsouza in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-13-2005, 09:33 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •