Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Member michelangelo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Palermo - Sicily - Italy
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default vmware virtual machine and ts3100

    i have installed esx server on a blade.
    i create a virtual machine on this esx.
    can i manage a ts3100 by fibre channel on virtual machine?
    In this virtual machine can i virtualize hba on blade?
    tsm have a correct driver for interface this virtual hba?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator Harry_Redl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    2,230
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 100 Times in 99 Posts

    Default

    Hi,

    ESX does not support (as of ESX 3.5) attaching of Fibre Channel libraries. Few succeeded in attaching such library but never multi-lun one (which all IBM TS3xxx are - you have one LUN for changer and another for Drive0 on one SCSI ID).

    Sorry

    Harry

    http://www.vmware.com/files/pdf/vcb_35_new.pdf

    "In addition, it is not possible to connect a Fibre Channel device directly to a virtual machine."
    Last edited by Harry_Redl; 09-23-2008 at 07:59 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. SQL Backup in virtual machine
    By bonobos in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-07-2008, 03:36 AM
  2. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-18-2007, 03:14 PM
  3. TS3100 on RHEL 4
    By max in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-24-2007, 08:28 AM
  4. Failing restore om Virtual machine
    By kvs in forum Restore / Recovery Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-04-2006, 01:38 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-14-2005, 04:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •