Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wink ACO5436E A failure occurred on stripe number (0), rc = 418

    While taking Backup for SQL Database using TDP SQL, The backup is failing with the below error

    Error:-
    09/17/2008 21:51:52 ACO5436E A failure occurred on stripe number (0), rc = 418
    09/17/2008 21:51:52 ANS1315W (RC15) Unexpected retry request. The server found an error while writing the data.
    09/17/2008 21:51:52 ACO5436E A failure occurred on stripe number (1), rc = 419
    09/17/2008 21:51:52 ACO0003S An internal processing error has occurred.
    09/17/2008 21:51:53 Backup of PRDDB failed.
    09/17/2008 21:51:53 ANS1315W (RC15) Unexpected retry request. The server found an error while writing the data.
    FULL_PROD' failed. Return code = 402.

    Pls help me in troubleshooting the backup

    Thank You

  2. #2
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,967
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 235 Times in 230 Posts

    Default

    Is this the only database being backed up on this server? If it is not and the other databases are doing fine then I suggest to take a look at the database itself and look at the DSIERROR.LOG file.

    This log file may point you to what the error is, and what maybe causing it. Generally, RC=418 means that there was a TSM API error.
    Ed

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    There is only one Database we are taking backup.

    in the dsierror.log file

    09/17/2008 21:51:52 ANS0278S The transaction will be aborted.
    09/17/2008 21:51:52 ANS1315W Unexpected retry request. The server found an error while writing the data.

  4. #4
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,967
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 235 Times in 230 Posts

    Default

    Have your DB folks done an integrity check on the database?

    Try to do a manual backup and see if you are getting the same error, and at the same location.
    Last edited by moon-buddy; 12-14-2010 at 10:00 PM.
    Ed

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    northern front-range Colorado, USA
    Posts
    600
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I've seen that a lot on the old server. We had to stream oracle backups directly to tape, and any error would ruin the entire oracle backup. I rearranged things so everything went first to disk and eliminated that issue. Now, if TSM sees a problem when bastaging or migrating to tape, it retries - no data loss, no interruption. Of course, with my nice new LTO3 library (except for firmware bugs) there're never tape errors anyway, but with only 4 drives for 400 nightly nodes, everything comes to disk anyway.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I'm having the same problem.

    I have an SQL Server in which the backup of only 1 of the databases failes.
    Everything worked fine untill suddenly it one day stopped working (nothing was changed).
    The errors shown in the logs are:
    ACO5436E A failure occurred on stripe number (0), rc = 418
    ANS1315W (RC15) Unexpected retry request. The server found an error while writing the data.

    The backup is going directly to tape (LTO4).
    The strange thing is that when I change the management class to go to disk or to a VTL it works.
    I thought that maybe the media is corrupted (LTO4), so I used "move data" to move all the data to a new cartridge but it still didn't help.
    I tried using "audit vol" on the cartridge which contains the current backup but it didn't find any problems\errors.

    n9hmg wrote that he fixed the problem by changing the destination storage pool to disk, but it doens't really solve the problem because writing to tape still doesn't work.
    I want to be able to backup directly to tape.

    Please Help!!!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Arbo - Did you ever find a fix for this? I'm seeing the exact same problem with just one database.

    Thanks
    Charlie

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Hi,

    This problem has been fixed by us in past. Can you please tell me the size of the DB for which the backup is failing and also check for the Windows events for the period when the backup failed, there might be some error related to this failure in the eventlog (Application). Also paste your tdpsql.cfg o/p here.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi,

    In my case the problm somehow disappeared one day.
    As a temporary fix I configured the backup of the problematic database to go to a disk pool, and when I checked again a few days later the backup to tape worked.
    The size of the DB I had problems with is 3MB.
    It's been some time since the problem so I can't provide any logs but maybe Charlie can.

Similar Threads

  1. SQL2062N An error occurred while accessing media
    By vst in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-2008, 03:22 PM
  2. Failure Code 42 and 14 - Job Failure
    By archyis in forum Symantec NetBackup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-04-2008, 11:59 AM
  3. ANE4993E ACO0302E A failure occured on stripe number (1), rc = 418
    By haaa01 in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-31-2005, 10:32 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-21-2005, 08:43 AM
  5. TDP SQL AC05436E error with return code RC = 418
    By plabrie2 in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-31-2005, 02:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •