Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,896
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 230 Times in 225 Posts

    Default DR Test - has anyone tried this?

    I am sure this will work but I want to ask if anyone has tried this. Here is the scenario:

    In the production environment, the transaction log are defined into three separate volumes, and the database are defined into ten volumes.

    In a DR test, I want to combine the three log volumes into one - the size of course being the sum total of the three. Also, I like that the database volumes be combined into 5 volumes instead of ten, and of course the total being equal to the original ten volumes.

    There seems to be no reason why this won't work. Has anyone tried this before in a DR Test?
    Ed

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Pacific NW...USA
    Posts
    207
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    While I haven't gone from 3 to 1 log volumes, I have done a number of TSM Server rebuilds and replacements using different numbers of volumes...just making sure that the total sizes are equal to or larger than the original Server's total.

    Most commonly, I've gone from 6-12 log volumes down to 3 or 4...as well as many DB volumes down to 6-10 range.

    As you stated in your posting...I believe all that really matters is that you have total sizes equal to or larger than the original server.

  3. #3
    Senior Member toxy13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Leipzig
    Posts
    739
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    yes it will work with your logfile and your db! i had test before

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,359
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Ed
    Yep, Ive tested this before as well, the only modification you need to do is your DRM plan script and dsmserv.dsk file for disk volumes i.e. removing the extras and increasing the sizing of the others.
    Steven Gabriel
    Principal -SGSolutions Inc.
    http://www.sgsolutionsinc.com

  5. #5

    Default

    You don't even need to modify your dsmserv.dsk file ... i have done recently db and log volumes from 5 down to single volume. The size should be same or larger than the existing ...

Similar Threads

  1. Certification Sample test Questions for test 799
    By sandeepbha in forum Training and Certification
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-02-2008, 03:42 AM
  2. Test Server, how do I copy the DB from Production server to Test?
    By PierCed_3 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-23-2008, 04:16 PM
  3. DR test
    By tdp_ora in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2005, 12:14 PM
  4. test
    By billy in forum Disaster Recovery Module
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-23-2004, 10:06 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-07-2003, 12:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •