Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default include exclude in AIX

    Hello everyone ...
    The set-up is tsm client 5.4 in aix ..i am trying to bind a directory to a separate management class ..below is the entry in DSM.SYS ..

    SErvername tsm
    COMMMethod TCPip
    TCPPort 1500
    TCPServeraddress xx.xx.xx.xx
    passwordaccess generate
    managedservices webclient schedule
    errorlogret 30 D
    schedlogret 7 D
    inclexcl /usr/tivoli/tsm/client/ba/bin/inclexcl.file
    abqp615a[/usr/tivoli/tsm/client/ba/bin] # more inclexcl.file
    exclude.dir "/pcard01/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard02/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard03/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard04/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard05/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard06/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard07/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard08/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard09/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard10/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard11/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard12/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard13/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard14/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard15/oradata/*"
    exclude.dir "/pcard17/*"
    exclude "/usr/tivoli/tsm/client/ba/bin/dsmsched.log"
    include /oracle/10g/* 10ver_1year

    I tried by giving a different stgpool to this mgmtclass and tried a manual backup for the files in that directory but the data was flowing to the deafult mgmtclass destination ...all my excludes are working fine ...

    Regards,
    Venkat

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    LU Germany
    Posts
    1,066
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    The include should bind every file in /oracle/10g/ to the new mgmtclass but nothing underneath it. For that it would have to be /oracle/10g/.../*

    PJ

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks PJ ...let me try ...

  4. #4
    Member ypcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    If you're trying to bind a directory you need to use include.dir right?

    If you mean the contents of the directory and everything under (recursive) then PJ is exactly right.
    Real men don't backup. Real men just cry.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    LU Germany
    Posts
    1,066
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    To be honest, I wasn't even aware, that something like include.dir exists and I can't really imagine, how it's supposed to work. I'll check it out when I'm back in the treadmill in monday.

    PJ

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    2,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    include /full/path/to/start/of/dir/.../* {mgmt_class}

    This will include the contents of "dir" and all subdirectories with the management class of {mgmt_class} for normal backups.

    -Aaron
    Three things are certain:
    Death, taxes, and lost data.
    Guess which has occurred.

  7. #7
    Member ypcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Every so often you get someone who wants to back up a few directories and exclude everything else, but they have 11 million directories which are saved to the meta database, separately from the core data. Exclude.dir is your buddy in these cases. You can also bind them to a different management class using these include statements.
    Real men don't backup. Real men just cry.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    LU Germany
    Posts
    1,066
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Yeah, well - that is exclude.dir which makes a whole lot of sense because it practically says "don't bother with this path - don't even go there to check other inclexcl patterns - just ignore the whole thing" - and that's fine. But an include.dir would be utterly useless, as far as I can see.

    PJ

  9. #9
    Member ypcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Not if you want to bind directories to a different management class, but yeah, mostly useless.
    Real men don't backup. Real men just cry.

  10. #10
    Moderator BBB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    2,075
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    I don't think include.dir exists, at least not officially. Or is it new?

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    208
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi,

    this is what I got when trying the "include.dir" statement:
    ANS1036S Invalid option 'INCLUDE.DIR' found in options file

    Also no references of the "include.dir" option in the manuals.
    I don't believe this option exist.

    Regards. Wim.

  12. #12
    Member ypcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I thought I read somewhere that directories are bound to the default management class and if you want to bind them elsewhere you use the include.dir but at my age memory, much like nostalgia just isn't what it used to be.

    Sorry for the confusion.
    Real men don't backup. Real men just cry.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    LU Germany
    Posts
    1,066
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Ahh, ok. The directories themselves bind to the class with the longest retention and that makes sense because you may otherwise end up with a file and no directory stored for it. To change the class for directories, you usually use the "dirmc" option, point it to a class with a very long retonly and keep it on disk. At least thats how we do it. An include.dir for that purpose would eventually make sense for cases where you have a very dynamic dir structure. Maybe something like that will be included sometime - but I'd rather guess that TSM 6.x will treat directories differently anyway.

    PJ

Similar Threads

  1. Exclude / Include
    By carstown in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-25-2007, 08:26 PM
  2. HELP HELP HELP : include exclude list on aix and TSM 5.2 !!!!
    By bdi in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-17-2004, 12:42 PM
  3. Include / Exclude
    By Murkin in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-05-2004, 06:11 PM
  4. Include / Exclude
    By alyeska in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-20-2003, 02:33 PM
  5. Include / Exclude
    By landea in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-24-2003, 10:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •