Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default PROBLEM WITH TSM Licensing

    Hello every body,

    I will try to write english.

    I have a problem with licensing TSM :

    My TSM sever work well but When I try to register the tsmee.lic file with the command : "reg license file=tsmee.lic", I obtain an error message that say :
    ANR9638W License registration is not supported on this server
    ANS8001I Return code 3.

    I try to reinstall all products (ISC, TSM serv, ADMIN center, etc...) but always the same error...

    I precise I've got the TSM 5.4.2 version.

    Thanks you for help you can bring to me.

  2. #2
    Member jdresang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Did you install the TSM 5.4.0 base code first?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    What do you call base code ? Is it The tsm server ?

    I cannot response before tomorrow afternoon but you can put your response thanks you.

  4. #4
    Senior Member THE_WIPET's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    562
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    jdresang is right... you have to install the base code... you will have the option to install the licence server.

    if you server is already at 5.4.2... juste install the "Device server" from 5.4.0 and reboot.. you should solve your problem

  5. #5
    Senior Member THE_WIPET's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    562
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    not de device server... Licence server.... Sorry... me bad!

    base code... is the one you d/l from your passport account at this moment it's 5.4.0

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Ok but I don't understand, sorry... What the base code ? An executable ?

    Because I install the 5.4.2.0-TIV-TSMSRV setup and adminCenter setup AND ISC setup ... but I don't see any license server......

    thank you

  7. #7
    Senior Member THE_WIPET's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    562
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Mikelo - yes the base code is an executable like the one you've installed. But to have the option to install the Licence server. you have to Install 5.4.0 before installing TIV-TSMSRV 5.4.2.0

    To Download 5.4.0 you have to get it with your passport advantage account. If you dont have a passport accont, ask you IBM rep to help you.

    The basecode is the executable contaning everything you need to start TSM server.(TSM Server,Licence Server,TSM Device Drivers and TSM Language pack) after you apply the patch/fix pack and TIV-TSMSRV 5.4.2.0 is a fixpack

    Hope this help you!
    Last edited by THE_WIPET; 05-23-2008 at 10:43 AM.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hey !! Ok I understand thank you I'am not very ok with TSM I'm a newbie

    Ok I will try to download this Thanks

    So I must reinstall all in the good order ?

  9. #9
    Senior Member THE_WIPET's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    562
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Hey Mickelo it's ok and i'm glad that i could help...

    it's not mandatory to reinstall everything... you could just install "Server licence" from the 5.4.0 executable... it will you solve your problem.

    If you feel ike it... you can reinstall TSM server only (no need to reinstall ISC and AdminCenter)

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    ok, but a strange thing appear...

    The license package , is this the three file *.lic ? because This files are present... daret.lic, tsmee.lic and tsmbasic.lic....

  11. #11
    Member jdresang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Those would be for TSM Extended Edition, Basic Edition and Data Retention. Your original comand to register tsmee.lic is the one you probably need and want

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    no no I know the command to register but the error appear when I try to register tsmee.lic...

    See my first post

    thanks

  13. #13
    Senior Member THE_WIPET's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    562
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    did you install the base package?

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    northern front-range Colorado, USA
    Posts
    600
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Let's start with a "lslpp-Lc 'tivoli.*'" that will settle what's installed.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    sorry but I don't understand your action... "lslpp-Lc 'tivoli.*'" ???

    What is it ? A command to write in console ADMC ?

    I will try to put an older version 5.1 or 4.0 because I really needthat and It's not work again....

    FOR The Wipet --> Yes I've installed all necessary..

  16. #16
    Senior Member THE_WIPET's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    562
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    did you type in TSM "register license file=*.lic" ? after installing de license server?

  17. #17
    Senior Member THE_WIPET's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    562
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    you can have the 5.1 licence and running 5.4.... by the way on what OS you are running you server AIX,Solaris, windows????

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Ok for the license, it run on windows 2003 server

Similar Threads

  1. TSM Licensing
    By adsm04 in forum Administrative Client
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-15-2008, 03:46 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-11-2008, 06:28 AM
  3. TSM Client Licensing - Windows 2003 Cluster
    By mahonm2 in forum Licensing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-23-2006, 09:03 AM
  4. UK - TSM Licensing and Hardware
    By Rick111 in forum Trading Post - For Computer and Data Storage Related Hardware/Software Sale or Want to Buy
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-28-2005, 07:35 AM
  5. VMware TSM licensing
    By bgagnon in forum Licensing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-28-2005, 03:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •