Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Member janecb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Exclude not working?

    Hi,

    I have an oracle unix server backing up with Oracle SQLBACKTRACK and TSM file systems. I do not want to back up the database files with my filesystem backup, so I have the following exclude:

    exclude /.../oradata/.../*

    The file systems look like this -

    /pshora7/u01/oradata/dtm1p/dtmds109.dbf

    and we have u01 to u59: When we recieved an overage report showing 17 TB of data for this one server, we checked.. and this exclude is not working. see portion of log file below

    03/17/08 01:29:30 Normal File--> 2,097,160,192 /pshora7/u59/oradata/dtm1p/dtmds109.dbf [Sent]
    03/17/08 01:38:07 Normal File--> 2,097,160,192 /pshora7/u59/oradata/dtm1p/dtmds110.dbf [Sent]
    03/17/08 01:41:24 Normal File--> 2,097,160,192 /pshora7/u59/oradata/dtm1p/dtmds111.dbf [Sent]
    03/17/08 01:44:54 Normal File--> 2,097,160,192 /pshora7/u59/oradata/dtm1p/dtmds112.dbf [Sent]
    03/17/08 01:48:21 Normal File--> 2,097,160,192 /pshora7/u59/oradata/dtm1p/dtmds113.dbf [Sent]
    03/17/08 01:51:47 Normal File--> 2,097,160,192 /pshora7/u59/oradata/dtm1p/dtmds114.dbf [Sent]
    03/17/08 01:55:13 Normal File--> 2,097,160,192 /pshora7/u59/oradata/dtm1p/dtmds115.dbf [Sent]

    any suggestions? Help?

    Thanks,
    Jane
    &&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&
    Jane Bamberger
    Keybank

  2. #2
    Senior Member cwilloug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Is this a windows box?

    Try:

    Exclude.backup "*:/.../oradata/dtm1p/*.dbf"

  3. #3
    Member janecb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi,
    No its a unix server...

    Jane
    &&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&
    Jane Bamberger
    Keybank

  4. #4
    Member janecb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I know in a client option set only one set of wildcard patterns can be used.. would that be the case in this exclude?

    Jane
    &&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&
    Jane Bamberger
    Keybank

  5. #5
    Senior Member cwilloug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Humm,,, UNIX boxes are not my strong point,, but maybe

    exclude /pshora7/oradata/.../*

    if you have java installed on the machine, make your changes to the dsm.sys file, then launch the GUI and "pretend" to do a backup, to see if you can see the directory or files you're trying to exclude - kind of a litmus test. If you can see the files, you need to change the dsm.sys file again.

    clay

  6. #6
    Senior Member cwilloug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    oops,, it should be...

    exclude /pshora7/.../oradata/.../*

  7. #7
    Member janecb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks, I will try it.. we are trying to make it generic so one inclexcl file for all.. and the pshora7 is too speciific to one server..

    Jane
    &&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&
    Jane Bamberger
    Keybank

  8. #8
    Moderator BBB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    2,075
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Your exclude of "exclude /.../oradata/.../*" is perfect for what you want to do.

    Can you post the output of "dsmc q inclexcl -detail". There may be an include "before" your exclude.

  9. #9
    Member janecb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi,

    Thank you all for your help.. I had the admin run the command for inclexcl, and they were using a non standard account that had multiple includes and excludes that were conflicting with the intent originally!

    Jane
    &&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&
    Jane Bamberger
    Keybank

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi All,

    Further to above question, I have same question. Can any one advice me whether my include statements are correct or not ?

    exclude /u04/.../*
    include /u04/oradata/trn2/.../*
    include /u04/oratrn2/.../*

    and dsm.opt shows like this

    DOMAIN /u04

    My requirement is under the above two directories every thing needs to be backed up. And rest all directories and files under /u04 backup is not required.

    Any thoughts on this ?

    Thanks,

    Ravikanth

  11. #11
    Moderator BBB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    2,075
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Yep looks fine as long as that's the order they appear in your dsm.opt or optionset.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you very much for the Reply ! I am worried whether required files are going to backup or not ? As the preview command shows me only direstories are included not files under those directories. Any thoughts on this ?

    Ravikanth

  13. #13
    Moderator BBB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    2,075
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Doesn't sound right. What other includes and excludes do you have?

    Post the output from "dsmc q inclexcl -detail".

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default size option with exclude

    Hi All,

    I have a query..on the same..

    I am working on TSM 5.5 on RHEL 4.5

    My problem is that i have some junk files created sometimes in my server..which shows 100 GB, when i use ll command, when i go for du -sh command it shows in MB. But during daily backups..TSM takes that file as 100GB. I want TSM not to backup such junk files.

    i have script to check such files and remove them, but sometimes..such files get backed up..

    Hence is there any size option that can be mentioned in exclude, to prevent backing up such files.

    do suggest

    regards
    storageadmin

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi,

    Here is the output

    tsm> q inclexcl -detail
    *** FILE INCLUDE/EXCLUDE ***
    Mode Function Pattern (match from top down) Source File
    ---- --------- ------------------------------ -----------------
    No exclude filespace statements defined.
    Excl Directory /.../.TsmCacheDir TSM
    Include All /u04/oratrn2/.../* "/usr/tivoli/tsm/client/ba/bin/inclexcl.txt"
    MC NAME:
    Include All /u04/oradata/trn2/.../* "/usr/tivoli/tsm/client/ba/bin/inclexcl.txt"
    MC NAME:
    Exclude All /u04/.../* "/usr/tivoli/tsm/client/ba/bin/inclexcl.txt"
    No DFS include/exclude statements defined.

    Any questions please feel free.

    Thanks,

    Ravikanth

  16. #16
    Moderator BBB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    2,075
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Ravikanth - looks ok to me. Try a test restore to see if you can see the files.

    Storageadmin: you should create a new post for this. I think what you are seeing is "sparse" files - look them up.

Similar Threads

  1. include / exclude not working as expected
    By tonny in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-11-2008, 07:06 AM
  2. Include/Exclude Not Working Properly
    By GregE in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-08-2007, 07:33 PM
  3. exclude.fs vs. exclude.dir on unix
    By denisl in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-25-2007, 03:55 PM
  4. Exclude statement not working
    By TSMGuru88 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-28-2004, 06:32 PM
  5. excludes not working
    By mproulx in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-08-2003, 09:25 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •